SUMMER PROGRAM IN THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

 JUNE 26 – JULY 10, 2006

 

 

DATE

 

TIME

 

ACTIVITIY

 

Monday, June 26

 

 

Arrive in Santo Domingo

Hotel Check In

Orientation

 

Tuesday, June 27

 

 

Topic: Education

 

 

10:00AM

 

 

 

 

 

1:00PM

 

Welcome Reception and Breakfast:

Universidad de la Tercera Edad

Office of the Secretary of State for Youth

 

LUNCH

 

Education:  Visit Barrio de la ciudad captial

 

Wednesday, June 28

 

 

Topic: History and Culture

 

 

10:00AM

 

 

 

12:00PM

 

 

 

 

7:00 PM

 

Lecture: Dominican Culture and Identity

Autonomous University of Santo Domingo, Carlos Andujar

 

LUNCH  at Plaza of Culture o Teatro Nacional

Museum of History and Culture

Museum of Modern Art

 

Colonial City Tour

 

Instituto Superior de Bellas Artes:  Interactive workshop on dance and music

 

 

Thursday, June 29

 

 

 

Topic: Legal System, Social Policies, and Child Welfare

 

 

10:00AM

 

 

 

 

 

 

1:00PM

 

Consejo Nacional para la Ninez y la Adolescencia (CONANI).  Lectura on laws and social policies regarding child welfare and family protection.

 

LUNCH

 

Palacio de Justicia:  Fiscaliza de la Mujer/Familias

Organismo Rector, Courts, Jails…

 

Friday, June 30

 

Topic:  Health Care

 

 

10:00AM

 

 

 

1:00PM

 

Hospital Padre Billini:  Lecture and Tour

 

LUNCH

 

Clinica Infantil (Dr. Robert Reid Cabral Hospital):  Lecture and Tour

 

Saturday, July 1

 

 

8:30AM

 

Departure for San Pedro de Macoris

 

Sunday, July 2

 

 

4:00PM

 

Departure for La Romana

Altos de Chavon

Higuey Cathedral

 

Return to Santo Domingo

 

Monday, July 3

 

Topic:  AIDS

10:00AM

 

 

 

2:00PM

Visit to Casa Rosada

 

LUNCH

 

Consejo Presidencial del SIDA: Lecture

 

 

Tuesday, July 4

 

Drugs and Drug Dependence

 

 

10:00AM

 

Hogar Crear

Lecture and visit to facilities

Wednesday, July 5

 

Topic:  Rural Areas and Agriculture

 

9:00AM

 

Departure for Costanza

Exploring the Mountains of the Dominican Republic and Agricultural Cooperatives

Thursday, July 6

 

 

8:00AM

 

Departure for Barahona

Community Resources

Visit to Polo magnetico

 

Friday, July 7

 

Saturday, July 8

 

Topic: Immigration and Disaster Management

 

7:00AM

 

Departure for Jimani

 

Exploring the border of the Dominican Republic and Haiti

Sunday, July 9

 

 

 

Rest and Relaxation at Boca Chica Resort

 

Monday, July 10

 

 

 

Return to US

 

Home