Contact Courses Professional Study Aids Glossaries Key Links Purpose      




NAME (Minutes Recorder):
Sharon G. Hoffman
DATE: December 6, 2002
LOCATION: Room 2240, Knight Campus

Paul Leclerc, Chairman
John Ribezzo
Susie Swenson
Denise Lazo
Ann O’Leary
Sharon Hoffman

Chair Paul Leclerc called the meeting to order at 2:00 PM.

Paul Leclerc reported on the most recent NEASC Steering Committee meeting. A self-study website has been established:

Referral of a potential student member for this committee will be sought through Dean Yount’s office.

In reviewing past surveys along with the current student survey being distributed, discussion focused on how to best format our surveys. Should there be a separate student survey with a second survey for faculty, staff and administrators or a single survey providing an opportunity for respondents to opt out of questions that are not relevant to their college roles. Surveys will be divided topically to cover the following areas:

  • Institutional Integrity
  • Code of Ethics
  • Employment Policies and Practices and Institutional Requirements
  • Academic Integrity
  • Administrative Integrity
  • Faculty Integrity
  • Staff Integrity
  • Information technology Integrity
  • Office of the President

The committee began to define specific topical sub-sets, which should be covered in the questionnaires. Areas included seeking the policy and procedures for re-classifying/upgrading job descriptions (sources: Personnel, Vice Presidents, President; Ann O’Leary will initiate)

Certain common areas of concern will be included on both questionnaires, such as physical and environmental (air quality, etc) safety, security, hiring practices, employment practices, code of ethics, cultural diversity. An example of a typical question might be, “I am satisfied with the level of physical safety outside and inside of college buildings.”  The committee suggested using a 5-point scale, formulating questions to allow for a range of answers and providing an area for additional comments.

CCRI’s Code of Ethics was discussed. An example of a survey question was developed: “CCRI’s administrative no-harassment policy prevents harassment of any kind. Options: strongly agree, agree, neither agree nor disagree, disagree, strongly disagree.”

As the number of topical areas and sub-topics appeared to be too great to complete within the committee meeting time, Denise Lazo proposed that categories be divided among members to develop questionnaire questions:

  • Paul Leclerc will finish the common set of questions.
  • Sharon Hoffman and Ann O’Leary will work on Faculty Integrity.
  • Denise Lazo will work on Administrative Integrity.
  • Susie Swenson will work on Staff Integrity.
  • John Ribezzo will work on Student questionnaire.

The current student survey results should be available by February.

Those committee members not in attendance at this meeting should contact Paul Leclerc for committee assignment.

The next meeting will be held on Monday, January 13, 2003, at 10 AM, in Room 2240, Knight Campus.

Paul Leclerc adjourned the meeting at 3:35 pm.